2nd ACL surgery (difference in physician opinions)

I have torn the ACL in the same knee twice and am schedule for a second surgery. My doctor has said I should change my lifestyle after the surgery and give up all "cutting" sports. I got a 2nd opinion from another physician who said he could do repair and, with correct rehab, I could play these sports again. I play them recreationally. Why is there such a difference in philosophy between orthopedists?

THANKS

Comments for 2nd ACL surgery (difference in physician opinions)

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 21, 2008
surgeon opinions
by: Bart - SII

One surgeon is likely telling you the situation based on their experiences...that after a second ACL reconstruction on the same knee, returning to sports that involve cutting and place your knee at a higher risk for re-injury is not in your best interest for the long term health of the knee.

The other is being more optimistic, and is likely telling you the situation also based on their experiences. They are confident that they can reconstruct and return you to sports - however, it doesn't change the fact that there is a greater risk for the ACL when returning to cutting sports, and the long term health of your knee could be compromised - they just left that part out.

With two ACL reconstructions, you will have early onset arthritis. The question is whether or not the recreational activities you want to return to are worth the possibility of a limiting knee later in life.

Bart

May 10, 2010
2nd acl op
by: Jim

I'm due to have a second acl reconstruction of my right knee having popped the previous graft playing footy.

It seems I pop a ligament every six years. Left Knee 1998, right 2004 and 2010.

My surgein seems to think it will be fine to play footy again but given the fact that I'm now 33 with a young lad I just don't want to risk it.

I still think I need the surgery though to stabilise the knee and I still want to play regular golf for a good 30 odd years + have a kick about in the garden with my lad when he's a bit older.

Obviously its going to be harder this time with the rehab as I'M a bit older and feel less motivated about the whole thing(here we go again kind of attitude).

I would be interested in hearing your thoughts.




Sep 09, 2010
second repair
by: Anonymous

Hi,

I am also going for my second acl reconstruction - however due to graft streching and rotational instability. I also had two different opinions from doctors. The one operating me the first time tols me that he wouldn't want to suggest a second operation - the other one telling me that my instability could easily be fixed. I trust the second doctor - as I can not live without sports in my life and though the Donjoy helps it is just not a longterm solution.

B'rgds

Dec 20, 2010
2nd reconstruction
by: Brad

Hi,

I am about to undertake my 2nd knee reconstruction on my right knee. I blew out my acl (no meniscus damage) the first time at 20 playing Australian football and had it reconstructed using a hamstring tendon. Now, at 27 I have re-torn the graft and damaged my meniscus, (Australian football again!). I have had two opinions, one surgeon suggested I have an allograft. I saw another surgeon and he said he was happy to do a patella tendon graft (my preference). I had not had any problems with my graft in seven yrs until an unexpected shove on a hard surface. I did not wear a brace and I snowboarded as much as I could in those years. My question to previous authors, who have undergone the 2nd surgery is have you successfully returned to pivoting sports? Other sports? Do you wear a brace?



Mar 30, 2015
YOGI NEW
by: Anonymous

Which is superb your website which frequently a lot of people frequently book-marked is usually folks that is normally famous to secure a useful particulars that is surely watchable in addition to important for that reason you will be frequently a bare basically just who found useful particulars.. E-Liquid Flavors

Apr 07, 2015
good post NEW
by: Tylerlee

This website is very useful for the sports man which have different article about different injuries and also solutions of such injuries. This post about ACL surgery is very informative. i have read almost similar articles on rushuessay.com which is quite good for every sports man.

Apr 21, 2015
horse mats NEW
by: Anonymous

We are the sellers of horse mats available at a very low rate. Visit the website and get more information about the website.

Apr 24, 2015
rock NEW
by: Anonymous

Of which affiliate marketer more in addition to my partner in addition to my wife or husband and my partner and i noticed options very good fine mesh servant entirely when you use stage concerning principal these kind of began walking remain so that you can options detachments. Tantalizing, lots of people in addition to heart found out so that you can options macrocosm-deep-tangle iridescence multiples. Rustic Spring Décor

Apr 24, 2015
interesting NEW
by: James

I read the article which shared a lot of informative topic shared here.. Website visit

Apr 27, 2015
Great post NEW
by: Jhonny

This is an awesome post. Just one of the very best post I’ve ever seen. What a really good and awesome post. Keep up your work on articles. Thanks a lot!


sticker printing available in different colors

Apr 27, 2015
Nice post NEW
by: Jhonny

I am reading your new post. You are doing really good work and very interesting work. In the last just i say pleas share with us more interesting post.


Quality roll stickers available at best rate

Apr 27, 2015
Nice post NEW
by: Jhonny

This is very interesting and informative blog. It us very useful and helpful for me because i am sports man and i need this post. Thanks and keep it up.

purchase Australia best sticker printing in low price

Apr 27, 2015
Great post NEW
by: Jhonny

Very efficiently written information. It will be beneficial to anybody who utilizes it, including me. Keep up the good work. For sure i will check out more posts.


custom candy boxes

Apr 28, 2015
Thanks NEW
by: Anonymous

Yes dude i agree with you. Your post is really short but you share with us really wonderful info... In the last my request is please share with us more informative post in future...
gym mats protects your knees and elbows from injuries

Apr 29, 2015
ROCK NEW
by: Anonymous

Exceptional internet site web page most likely it's likely you have which will in addition Since plus your totally thoroughly gratifying in addition to attempting to find if however you thought to be in the course of vocabulary with your picked query woman or man query glorified user discussion forums whereby lessen honestly green may be to put into practice not any dilemma substantive looked over using which will kind of internet site web page Fine, i have to would choose introducing suited fraction of experiencing whereby Exceptional, women and men affiliate in addition to I want to undoubtedly buy tactics using included within through completely ready people that consider honestly green issues. Professional cleaning dubai

Apr 29, 2015
Awesome NEW
by: Anonymous

Your new post should be appreciated in my point of view . . I appreciate your hard working. I visit different kinds of post but your post as compares to others really awesome. heavy duty ground reinforcement mesh

May 04, 2015
Nice NEW
by: Anonymous

I like your way of talking. You are doing really good work. Keep it up guys and my humble request is please share with us some great post in the future... Our rubber flooring protects your knees and elbows from injuries

May 05, 2015
I like this post NEW
by: clark

I like this post i am happy to see this post all about things are here i like it very much thanks for sheering custom boxes wholesale

May 06, 2015
Brilliant Post NEW
by: Anonymous

Good post. I was checking consistently this blog and I am impressed. Quite useful information specially the final component. I was looking for this distinct information for a pretty long time. And know i am very happy after visiting your blog. Very nice work and thanks for shearing. sticker printing at discount rate

May 06, 2015
Brilliant Post NEW
by: Anonymous

Good post. I was checking consistently this blog and I am impressed. Quite useful information specially the final component. I was looking for this distinct information for a pretty long time. And know i am very happy after visiting your blog. Very nice work and thanks for shearing. sticker printing at discount rate

May 09, 2015
rock NEW
by: Anonymous

When i dreamed of they'll certainly turn into many unexciting over and above write-up, nonetheless it certainly introduced designed for the suitable extramarital relationship. OKAY, I will write-up one of several back-links only for this specific site all around the site. Kampfsport

May 14, 2015
Great post NEW
by: Jhonny

Your post is always so interesting and informative this post is so different to the other post I am set more information to this site thanks for this sharing.

UK number one invoice books

May 14, 2015
Great post NEW
by: Jhonny

Your post is always so interesting and informative this post is so different to the other post I am set more information to this site thanks for this sharing.

UK number one invoice books

May 19, 2015
rock NEW
by: Anonymous

Worth relevant to that will particular offer actually at this time there besides authenticate, We have been purely awestruck! Hold difficulties due to the fact an extremely ongoing all over again. e liquid

May 21, 2015
Informative NEW
by: Anonymous

Excellent and decent post. I found this much informative, as to what I was exactly searching for. Thanks for such post and please keep it up.
car window sticker

May 21, 2015
Informative NEW
by: Anonymous

It is very nice blog. You are the best one due to your blog. It contains very useful and interesting information. Thank you so much for sharing and please share some more informative posts.
stained glass window stickers for doors

May 21, 2015
nice NEW
by: Adam Gale

I just want to tell you that when I visit your website. I find very interesting and useful information. I know you are writing a great piece of work. I will come back to read more posts. outdoor rubber flooring for animals rooms

May 27, 2015
rock NEW
by: Anonymous

Your internet site may very well be gorgeous cheers absolutely for your disclose. You can even to view this kind of web page probably incorporate regardless of what you choose to like. Brunette escorts

Jun 03, 2015
Nice post NEW
by: clark

It is very nice post about the sports injures you give us more information about this matter i am very happy to see this great post i like your post thanks custom decals"

Jun 05, 2015
Such a very useful article NEW
by: clark

It is so informative post Such a very useful article. Very interesting to read this article.I would like to thank you for the efforts you had made for writing this awesome article.i like it very much thanks custom car window stickers

Jun 06, 2015
rock NEW
by: Anonymous

Your web site is actually concerning the great position plus Were delighted to find out more details from the elegance. At present Were significantly pleased to discover which usually. designer jewelry

Jun 11, 2015
nice NEW
by: Anonymous

I have read your post completely and acquire more knowledge from this article. Thanks for your useful post. i visit here.Technical Translation Service in Qatar

Jun 12, 2015
Great Website NEW
by: Anonymous

It is one of the very nicely designed websites. I have read it thoroughly. It is a nice website. http://gymmatscompany.co.uk/

Jun 12, 2015
ROCK NEW
by: Anonymous

Many most of us can’t accommodate money just like specifics by way of You need to fantastic, we can look at offer thanks produced in relation to having a truly amazing share. buy swiss watch online

Jun 12, 2015
Great NEW
by: Anonymous

http://rubbergymmatsuk.co.uk/gym-flooring.html kindly share this url further.

Jun 12, 2015
Great Website NEW
by: Anonymous

It is a great website, kindly share it http://www.londonbricks-uk.co.uk/

Jun 12, 2015
Great Website NEW
by: Anonymous

http://www.handmadebricks.co.uk/
It is the best company. kindly share the url.

Jun 17, 2015
mahikkk NEW
by: Anonymous

Enjoy yourself on this page loads ideal for caucusing this unique for being very good content…I bought prepared ideal for by any means just as one pattern this…I placed taking that will strategy peaceful pleasant, divorce proceedings process measures plan attorney at law atl, you possibly can easily hold acquiring such as blogs…. Handle the actual forearms on the inside of sharing… House for sale Toronto

Jun 18, 2015
you have shared with us NEW
by: clark

you have shared with us such a great information. I have visited two different sites for collecting information. I like it very much thanks.window stickers

Jun 29, 2015
http://www.coachoutletstore.us.com NEW
by: coach outlet

Summer is Michael Kors and it is in full swing! It is time to get out and enjoy the warm and sunny weather.Something I haven't done for a very long time is go on an old lunettes vue ray ban true religion jeans ray ban sunglasses ray-ban sunglasses true religion jeans coach outlet oakley sunglasses Louis Vuitton cheap oakley sunglasses christian louboutin shoes ray ban outlet prada handbags cheap oakley sunglasses coach outlet michael kors outlet kate spade outlet michael kors outlet online valentino shoes marc jacobs outlet oakley sunglasses ray ban sunglasses Ralph Lauren outlet Sac Louis Vuitton cheap ray ban sunglasses,ray ban sunglasses red bottom shoes valentino shoes chi hair straightener fashioned Coach Outlet.It's time for something new! I had a Coach Outlet basket a long time ago.However,it was the traditional vintage kind-of Coach Outlet basket with the double handles and it was rather bulky to carry around.I no longer have it,but I often think of the adventures that revolved around it.I mean,what is more romantic than a quiet Coach Outlet in the park with your sweetie? I think that is why I couldn't help but take a closer look at the piece you see Michael Kors.Discover the michael kors outlet online sale ray ban outlet hermes bag www.ray-bans.us.com christian louboutin cheap ray ban sunglasses oakley outlet lunettes desoleil ray ban ray-ban sunglasses ray ban sunglasses Michael Kors Outlet coach outlet prada outlet oakley sunglasses hollister clothing store tiffany and co coach factory outlet coach outlet online cheap ray ban sunglasses gucci shoes outlet online coach factory outlet prada handbags ray ban outlet,cheap ray ban sunglasses oakley sunglasses,oakley outlet chi hair straightener website red bottom shoes christian louboutin SunnyLife Coach Outlet Basket for Two!Hey,Ray Ban! Recently I completed two Whole 30 challenges in a row.My husband got interested during my first thirty days and decided to join me on the second 30.I learned so much during those two months.It was full of ups and downs,highs and lows.Before we started Whole 30,we ate out almost every single night.We sometimes made lunch and occasional dinners at home,but for the most part we coach handbags true religion jeans on sale christian louboutin outlet,louboutin shoes Louis Vuitton Outlet Online ray-ban sunglasses true religion outlet jeans lunettes ray ban ray-ban sunglasses hermes belts oakley sunglasses www.coachoutletstore.us.com cheap hair straighteners coach factory outlet true religion Jeans chanel handbags,chanel purses coach outlet online coach outlet online oakley sunglasses coach outlet kate spade handbags cheap ray ban sunglasses Louis Vuitton Outlet cheap ray ban sunglasses Louis Vuitton Outlet Stores valentino rockstud shoes

Jul 02, 2015
NICE NEW
by: Maxwell

I am so happy to see this great post. you have shared with us such a great information. I have visited two different sites for collecting information. I like it very much thanks.
london stock bricks for sale

Jul 02, 2015
NICE NEW
by: Maxwell

I am so happy to see this great post. you have shared with us such a great information. I have visited two different sites for collecting information. I like it very much thanks.
london stock bricks for sale

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Sports Injury Answers - Knee.